| Both sides previous revision Previous revision | |
| 2500_config_apps:0200_work_bsv:0700_publishing_bsv [2026/08/13 00:55] – ↷ Links adapted because of a move operation localdev | 2500_config_apps:0200_work_bsv:0700_publishing_bsv [2026/08/13 07:20] (current) – external edit 127.0.0.1 |
|---|
| Publishing business space version is a complicated process – in particular, if any new business objects have been defined in the version being published or definitions of the existing business objects have been changed, //**AwareIM**// will build and/or alter the corresponding database tables. | Publishing business space version is a complicated process – in particular, if any new business objects have been defined in the version being published or definitions of the existing business objects have been changed, //**AwareIM**// will build and/or alter the corresponding database tables. |
| |
| <callout type="danger" icon="true" title="warning"> If there is already operational data created by the end users while working with the previous versions, publishing a new version may destroy this data if changes to the business object in the new version are such that it is not possible to preserve the existing data – for example, if a definition of a business object has been deleted, all instances of the business object are lost. Similarly if some attribute of a business object has been deleted, the existing data corresponding to this attribute is lost. //**AwareIM**// does everything it can to preserve the existing data whenever possible (for example, when an attribute type is changed) and the Configuration Tool warns the user immediately if the configurator’s changes lead to any loss of data – see also [[2500_config_apps:0500_add_edit_objects|Adding/Editing Business Objects]].</callout> | <alert type="danger" icon="fa times-circle"> |
| | **warning** |
| | |
| | If there is already operational data created by the end users while working with the previous versions, publishing a new version may destroy this data if changes to the business object in the new version are such that it is not possible to preserve the existing data – for example, if a definition of a business object has been deleted, all instances of the business object are lost. Similarly if some attribute of a business object has been deleted, the existing data corresponding to this attribute is lost. //**AwareIM**// does everything it can to preserve the existing data whenever possible (for example, when an attribute type is changed) and the Configuration Tool warns the user immediately if the configurator’s changes lead to any loss of data – see also [[2500_config_apps:0500_add_edit_objects|Adding/Editing Business Objects]].</alert> |
| |
| ===== To publish a business space version ===== | ===== To publish a business space version ===== |
| - Select the “Version/Publish” command in the menu or right click to bring up the pop-up menu and select “Publish”. The version will be moved to the ''CURRENT'' state (this may take some time) and displayed in black. | - Select the “Version/Publish” command in the menu or right click to bring up the pop-up menu and select “Publish”. The version will be moved to the ''CURRENT'' state (this may take some time) and displayed in black. |
| |
| <callout type="primary" icon="true" title="note"> before a version is moved to the ''CURRENT'' state the integrity checking of the version is performed. If the version has any integrity problems it will not be published, instead the list of integrity problems will be displayed – see [[2500_config_apps:0200_work_bsv:0500_checking_version_integrity|Checking Version Integrity]].</callout> | <alert type="primary" icon="fa info-circle"> |
| | **note** |
| | |
| | before a version is moved to the ''CURRENT'' state the integrity checking of the version is performed. If the version has any integrity problems it will not be published, instead the list of integrity problems will be displayed – see [[2500_config_apps:0200_work_bsv:0500_checking_version_integrity|Checking Version Integrity]].</alert> |
| |
| |
| |