Publishing Business Space Version

Once a business space version has been tested and you are happy with how your business rules and processes work, the business space version can be published. Publishing business space version makes it available to the end users. The version is moved into the CURRENT state – see also Lifecycle of a Business Space Version.

If you already have a version in the CURRENT state it is recommended that you publish the new version when no one is using the old version in the Operation Mode. AwareIM will not proceed with publishing of the new version until there is no user activity with the old version, so if the old version is being heavily used AwareIM will keep waiting until there is a break in the old version usage. Once the new version has been published any current users of the old version will not be able to use the old version any more – they will be advised to log out and log into the new version.

It is also highly recommended that you back up your existing operation data before publishing the version – see **backing up operation data.**

Publishing business space version is a complicated process – in particular, if any new business objects have been defined in the version being published or definitions of the existing business objects have been changed, AwareIM will build and/or alter the corresponding database tables.

  1. Make sure that the version you want to publish is loaded – see Loading Business Space Version.
  2. Click on the business space version you want to publish in the Elements Tree to select it (the version must be in either the UNDER TEST, OBSOLETE or NEW state)
  3. Select the “Version/Publish” command in the menu or right click to bring up the pop-up menu and select “Publish”. The version will be moved to the CURRENT state (this may take some time) and displayed in black.